Casting & Other News Drops for Fifth Season of American Horror Story

AHS posterI’ll admit it … I’ve kinda gotten over the whole AMERICAN HORROR STORY praising. Aside from the acting, I though the third season, COVEN, was a disaster. Between characters constantly coming back from the dead and all the melodrama and in-fighting from the young witches, I couldn’t get into the third season at all. With essentially an all-female cast, I was excited to see some strong female characters lashing out at the patriarchy. What we got was the stereotypical “women can’t be friends with women” scenario and we even ended up with two of the witches fighting over a guy. I found Coven to be anything but female-empowering!!

Then my hopes were up again for AMERICAN HORROR STORY: FREAK SHOW. This was definitely an improvement over COVEN, but I thought the show lost steam half way through the season and I became bored. But now that news for the fifth season of the show, AMERICAN HORROR STORY: HOTEL, are starting to drop, I’m finding my interest slowly and hesitantly increasing.

I’m even more hesitant after the recent news that Jessica Lange won’t be returning for HOTEL. Lange has been the backbone of the series and has played pivotal roles in each season. In the first season Lange played a washed-up Southern belle, than a vitriolic nun in ASYLUM, a dominant witch in COVEN, and a German carnival ringmaster in FREAK SHOWAfter each season ended I realized that Lange’s performance was the main thing that stuck with me. Lange killed it in every season and he performance was the reason why I was tuning in every week. Lange was in her element. She was in a TV series where every season she got to play a new character. This is an actor’s dream. For her efforts she won two Emmys, a Golden Globe, and a SAG award, and she deserved every one of those awards.

AHS lange2

But at a recent PaleyFest panel, Lange announced that she will no longer be apart of AMERICAN HORROR STORY. As Lange said during the panel:

“Yes, I’m done … We’ve had a great run here. I mean, I absolutely love doing these four characters, and in all the madness, I love the writers and Ryan (Murphy) and the insanity of shooting it.”

AHS actorsThis is a huge blow to the series, but the show must go on. And it did. Soon we got casting news for HOTEL. According to Variety, Matt Bomer and Cheyenne Jackson have been cast in AMERICAN HORROR STORY: HOTEL, joining the already announced Lady Gaga. The plot details of their characters are being kept under wraps, but we know Bomer will be playing one of the leads.

More on AMERICAN HORROR STORY: HOTEL as details become available.

What do you think about Jessica Lange not being involved anymore?

Stay Bloody!!!

AHS lange

Comments
2 Responses to “Casting & Other News Drops for Fifth Season of American Horror Story”
  1. Gatekeeper says:

    In my opinion since the last season has been getting a bit stale

    Like

Leave a Reply

